the week in running and beer (hooray!)

So I ran 14 miles last week (um, TOTAL), which is kind of a big deal for me.

brent dances

I’d like to start posting weekly reports on my running again, as long as I feel there’s anything even remotely noteworthy about it. I really like the Will Run For Beer format of number of miles run/number and type of beers consumed so I might try something like that for a while. Except my output probably won’t be nearly as consistent or impressive as hers, in terms of the miles or the beers. But, mediocrity: hey, it’s worked so far!

Running

I’ve been doing a lot of miles on the treadmill, which is helping me get comfortable with running hard again without actually having to work as hard.

I’ve been doing my favorite bastardized version of an interval workout I stole from Runner’s World eons ago: a set of 5-4-3-2-1, starting at a comfortable pace and gradually increasing in speed until I’m running hard for the last minute. Then I take a quick walk/water break and do it again. And if I feel like it, a nice, slow cool-down mile. (But the cool-down is nonessential because whatever.)

I did that on Monday (3 miles) and again on Tuesday (4 miles), lifted weights on Wednesday, again on the treadmill Thursday (4 miles), took Friday off, ran outside on Saturday (3 miles) and took Sunday off.

I’m still in the 10:XX range on these runs (so I guess that 30:20 5K I ran last month was an anomaly) and unfortunately, my no-pants November challenge doesn’t appear to be doing me any favors in the lose-that-baby-weight-so-you-can-run-fast-again department. I’m learning that a forgiving waistline offers a false sense of fitness. But I’ll get there.

Beer!

Codie’s sleep routine has become fairly predictable, except when it’s not (which is pretty much any time I tell someone her sleep routine has become predictable). But I can generally count on her to go at least five or six hours for the first stretch of the evening, from 7:30 until midnight or 1 a.m., which means I can have a beer after she goes to bed! That evening beer probably makes me a lot happier than it should.

I skipped autumn this year and dove straight into the dark wintry brews. Last week I enjoyed a Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Stout and an Anchor Porter. (Did I mention I have a smartphone now? You can be my friend on Untappd!)

I feel like I’m out of the loop and don’t know jack shit about beer anymore so if there’s anything I absolutely need to try (that’s available out here in the sticks), let me know.

Upcoming: my annual turkey trot. I won’t be in PR shape by then but I can’t pass up a race that starts half a mile from my doorstep. I’ll be happy if I can come in close to 29 minutes.

Number of miles run: 14 (But I can do better! I hope to be doing 20-25 miles a week by the spring.)

Number of beers consumed: 2 (Ditto here.)

14 thoughts on “the week in running and beer (hooray!)

  1. Hi, I have a completely nosy question that I hope you won’t mind answering. How do you exactly work out beer and breast feeding? I’m currently 6 months and so missing my beer and I don’t think I can wait another year after she is born to have a dark brew. I was always told if you are nursing, no alcohol. You’ve given me hope this isn’t so.

    • Not nosy! I asked that question about a billion times because I really wanted to have a beer after the baby was born but obviously wanted to be 10000% sure I wasn’t going to get her drunk! I’m not an expert so you should ask your lactation consultant about it when you’re in the hospital, but Kellymom is a great resource for everything related to breastfeeding (it’s been recommended to me by nurses and lactation consultants and the articles have sources/citations).
      http://kellymom.com/bf/can-i-breastfeed/lifestyle/alcohol/
      I follow the two hour rule, basically it’s okay to nurse as long as you wait two hours after having a drink (assuming you’re not still buzzed). Around 8 weeks or so, this baby decided to stop taking a bottle so I have to be a little more careful. Like, what if I have a drink and 5 minutes later she decides to have a growth spurt and wants to nurse? So I never have more than one. (With my first, I could pump, have a couple drinks, feed her a bottle, and not have to worry about waiting or wasting any milk.)
      All the lactation consultants I’ve asked have told me it’s generally okay to have ONE drink, and waiting two hours MAY not be necessary, but waiting the two hours just makes me feel better.
      Gah. I hope that helps! Congrats and good luck with your baby and enjoy that beer!

      • That really does help and thanks a lot. I can’t wait until she’s here so that she quits kicking my ass from the other side. Also as the mother of two sons, I’m excited about this whole daughter adventure. Thanks again!

      • One of my closest friends has two boys and just had her first girl a few weeks ago and she is INSANE. 🙂 Have fun!

  2. My most favorite part of this post: the part where you say “I’ve been doing a lot of miles on the treadmill…” I should share my opposite-of-MAF training plan with you.

    My least favorite part of this post: the fact that there are NO PICTURES of your cute kids and NO SELFIES.

    I’ll bet you break 29 in that Turkey Trot. You’re an animal.

Leave a Reply

