love in the time of ebola

So my toddler threw up yesterday and half the people who read this blog just stopped reading.

nope

It’s only the second time she’s ever barfed (and the first time was like two years ago) so it was pretty traumatic for both of us.

jesus says

I was on the couch with Codie when it happened, and I heard Kenzie burst into tears in another room. I went in there and found what looked like green smoothie in a pool on the carpet in front of her. I was struggling to figure out what she’d spilled when I saw the carrots from dinner the night before. Oh.

Bet you'll think twice before whipping up that next green smoothie, huh?

Bet you’ll think twice before whipping up that next green smoothie, huh?

Anyway, about 45 seconds later she was like, “mommy I’m not sick anymore, can we go outside and play in the snow?” So I think it was a freak thing and not Ebola, but I kept her on the couch all day anyway.

2014-11-17 10.36.36

Toddler nest.

She didn’t throw up anymore, but she woke up around 2 a.m. this morning with a fever, which I think is even scarier than barf, because her little body just radiates heat. Nobody can spike a fever like a toddler.

Codie’s been a trooper so far and hasn’t suffered much more than a boogery nose, which is astonishing to me since Kenzie’s favorite thing to do is get right in her face, hold her cheeks, and snort like a pig.

Thanks a lot, Peppa.

Thanks a lot, Peppa.

As for me, I’m still coughing like Walter White season five. I usually sleep alright until one of the girls wakes up, but when I have to get out of bed all the mucus shifts around in my head or something and I go into a coughing fit. Usually just as I’m trying to gently lay the baby back in her crib without waking her.

Totally me.

My husband is the only one who hasn’t been contaminated at this point, and when he came home from work yesterday, he immediately offered to stay with the kids so I could get out of the house for a while. I wasn’t sure that running was a such a great idea with my probably-will-turn-out-to-be-whooping-cough (although I did seriously consider it), but I felt like I needed to take him up on his offer so I went to the gym and lifted weights instead. Feed a fever, sweat out a cold or something, right?

amirite

I don’t feel any worse today, but I really don’t feel any better either. Luckily, the barfing appears to have been an isolated incident and Kenzie was begging to go out in the snow again today.

snowman no

Actually, aside from not sleeping much and worrying obsessively about the barfing and the fevers, being sick with a toddler really isn’t that bad. She’s a lot more cuddly when she feels like crap, and she’s even taking naps again.

Tomorrow, we’re supposed to go meet some friends at another one of those goddamn germ infested indoor playgrounds, and I’m actually considering going because pay it forward, and because we’re all getting a little bit stir crazy around here.

Johnny-Depp-Crazy-Head

9 thoughts on “love in the time of ebola

  1. The first (and only thankfully) time Faith threw up, I first assumed she spilled something on the floor. Something chunky? It took me way longer than it should have to put two and two together.

  2. I love the title of this post so much.

    Consider yourself lucky that your daughter has only thrown up twice. My mother told me that I threw up pretty much every day from when I was born til I was about 2 years.

  3. Being sick really sucks. I avoid it at all costs…and ignore it as long as possible. I wish I were a more awesome mommy when my kids get sick. Building Kenzie little nests is so sweet. I didn’t get much training in that kind of stuff as a child so all my skills (or lack thereof) are purely self-taught. My favorite is when they vomit while in the carseat and it gets all stuck on the straps and down in the clasp. Not. Hope your household is in great health soon!

    • Haha, oh my god! She never barfed in there but did squeeze out one of those apple sauce pouches all over her once. Probably almost as bad. (No, not even close.)

Leave a Reply

