Weekly running and beer wrap-up: running on empty

First of all, thanks to those of you who delurked to console me about my sleepless babies! I love you. And despite my incessant whining, I know I’ve got it really easy as a parent. My kids are healthy. They’re not disabled. They’re not psychopaths (as far as I can tell). They’re cute! Not even asymmetrical or goofy looking. They’re pretty much perfect. They just don’t ever want to sleep.

I'm running out of "kill me now" GIFs.

I’m running out of “kill me now” GIFs.

Having said that, it’s been a rough couple of days. When you have a newborn, you expect not to sleep. You just sort of power through it and it’s hard but whatever. The toddler’s sleep strike caught me by surprise, and has left me sort of dumbfounded. On top of that, Codie is cutting her first official tooth, which also caught me by surprise (Kenzie was almost eight months when she started teething). So the babe was up from 2 to 3 and 5 to 6 and just moments after I crawled back into bed, the clock struck Kenzie’s most favorite time of the day, 6:15. And here I am on five hours of sleep. Again.*

So this will be short.

Running

It turns out my mileage is inversely proportional to the amount of sleep I get. I was able to do that five miles I was aiming for and a couple of fours! Running (unlike my brain) felt really good this week.

12-7-14

 

Since I hate lifting weights and can’t bring myself to do it more than once a week, I’m trying to do one cross-training day on the bike. At least until I fit into my swimsuit again.**

Beer

Saturday night I actually got to go OUT with GROWNUPS and have A BEER. After I got home, I had a hell of a time getting the kids to bed again so I treated myself to another one.

The front runner of the week was the Anchor Porter. I remember Soul Ride IPA being a lot better the first time I had it, and wondered if this one was from the same batch and had maybe been sitting on a shelf under harsh grocery store fluorescents for several months. Golden Zoe is from a local brewery, Thr3e Wise Men, and it’s a very decent 6% IPA.

*I do have sympathy for my baby and for her dear sweet tender gummy mouth, of COURSE, but this is a blog about me. If she wants pity from you people, she can start her own blog.

**So like, forever.

4 thoughts on “Weekly running and beer wrap-up: running on empty

Leave a Reply

