hi there

So I know I’m a shit blogger and I just want to say thanks to the tens of you who keep checking in and reading (and also to the dozen or so strangers each week who are still trying to figure out how to have a good-looking baby).

I can’t even remember what I’ve updated you on since the last time I blogged and I’m too lazy to look so if I repeat anything let’s just pretend I’m wasted.

Some things that have happened recently:

1. My shoulder thing is better. I did the exercises like I was supposed to and it doesn’t hurt to reach up or over or put on clothes anymore so I’m happy. It’s still tender and sometimes I move it wrong and it hurts a lot but it’s fine. I’m just glad it’s not something serious. It’s a pretty dumb thing to complain about in the whole scheme of things.

2. We went on our annual trip to BF, Missouri to visit the grandparents. This was a special trip because it was their 70th anniversary. 70. I got married when I was 25 (I think), so there’s very little chance of me living long enough to be married for 70 years. It’s kind of fucked up to think about.

The girls got to see their one and only cousin, who is actually the daughter of my husband’s cousin, and I don’t know what the hell that makes her so we just call them both cousins. She’s two and Kenzie’s three and they had a ball together.

3. I’m running a 5k on Saturday. It’s a St. Patrick’s beer thing in the afternoon and I haven’t decided how seriously I’m going to take it. I’m not sure I’m in PR shape and I don’t want to run hard if I don’t even have a chance. I’ll probably do what I normally do and have a plan that I will just completely abandon as soon as I get there.

4. IT’S FINALLY FUCKING WARM. We’ve had like, three moderately mild days (and I mean like, 40s and 50s) and we’ve been to the park all of those days. I even almost took the baby out for her very first run in the jogger, except that right as I was heading out the door, I realized the stroller was in the car that my husband was currently gone in, and I cursed. But there will be lots more time for that in between fun spring tornadoes.

And here are pictures because my kids are cooler than any words I can put here.

2015-03-08 17.43.11 2015-03-08 17.45.22

 

 

5 thoughts on “hi there

  1. I believe your daughters and your husband’s cousin’s daughter are second cousins. Your husband and the cousin’s daughter would be first cousins once removed. As a child I read several novels about the antebellum South that included characters’ fascination with geneaology and family.

    re: “I’ll probably do what I normally do and have a plan that I will just completely abandon as soon as I get there.” – That’s how I roll too. High five!

    • Aha! You’re better than Google.
      It ended up being a totally casual untimed beer drinking event more than a race. Not a PR day, haha!

  2. Pingback: 2015 Shamrock 5k Beer Run | Cheaper Than Therapy

  3. We have complicated cousin things here too. We just call them cousins. One of them does keep trying to clarify exactly what kind of cousins we are and I just keep shutting her down. Guess that makes me a bitch-cousin.

  4. Pingback: Five weeks to half marathon greatness: week 3 | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

