Week 2 and other milestones

So I have a preschooler now, you guys.

omgpreschooler

Holy shit, right?

There was a period of time today when Kenzie was at school and Codie was napping and instead of doing anything constructive with my time I just sat and did jack shit for like an hour.

weird feeling

And also it’s my birthday tomorrow! I’ll be so old. But just as broke as I was in my 20s because kids are expensive.

Anyway, we drove to my in-law’s in the Chicago area for a long weekend so I’ll go over that briefly and then get into the running shit. Feel free to skip around as you see fit but I recommend you read the whole thing because this is really good stuff.

Thursday we took the kids to a pool/waterpark where I forgot to take any photos but it was really fun. There was a wading pool for babies, a beach-entry pool, some water slides and a waterfall that Kenzie went just apeshit over. I really wish I had pictures.

giphy

Friday we went to a friend’s place where we played outside and drank beer. They have this really dope inflatable slide/wading pool and once again, apeshit.

2015-07-31 15.02.33

Saturday we went to the Morton Arboretum. They have a really cool children’s garden and lots of things to discover and climb on and splash in. We didn’t stay long enough because apparently there’s this huge treehouse and a bunch of other stuff we didn’t even see.

2015-08-01 10.05.56

Because we spent too much time playing peekaboo.

(Saturday afternoon I ran 12 miles but I’ll get to the running part in a second.)

Sunday we drove up north to my cousin’s place. They have two girls, 12 and 16. (The older was the flower girl in my wedding…almost 10 years ago. See what I mean? Old.) There’s a brewery and a great park there and also Lake Michigan, all within walking distance of their house. I’m jealous.

2015-08-02 14.23.07

Here’s part of Lake Michigan.

We got home Sunday night at 8 and made a mad dash to unload all our shit from the car, eat dinner and get the kids to bed. It was a nice trip but it’s always a relief to get home and sleep in your own bed and have all your shit exactly the way you want it.

So, running. I knew with a road trip it’d be hard to stick to my training plan but I actually didn’t do too poorly.

080415

I did my Wednesday run in the morning before we left, and moved my Friday and Sunday runs up a day. The plan called for an easy four and a long slow 12, and I felt like I’d be piling on a lot of miles if I ran the full four on Thursday, so I just did two.

That 12 was tough. It was hot and humid, but I was able to run on a section of the Illinois Prairie Path that is gravel and almost completely shaded. There were even THREE water fountains along the way– such a fucking bonus.

20150801_140644

I didn’t have to run in circles for once and it was all I imagined it would be, and more.

I only had to stop once for a red light at an intersection but I swear to god it took like five minutes. I don’t ever pause the timer when I use the running app because it’s too much of a pain in the ass to try to paw my phone out while dripping with sweat, so I just stood there with the seconds ticking away as I waited for the light to change. #sweatyrunnerproblems. It dragged my average pace down to nearly 11:00 and I never quite made it up. (So that’s a long way of saying I feel cheated and I probably totally ran this faster than it says I did!)

I took Sunday off completely. My right hip was really sore and I iced it intermittently Sunday and Monday. Oddly, working out at the gym Monday afternoon made it feel better and now it doesn’t hurt at all. Confused, but relieved.

Last week was a distance record for me (a post-Codie record, anyway)– 25 miles, and last MONTH was too– 95. Next week I’m supposed to do a long run of 14 and after that, a cutback week!

How was your weekend? 

4 thoughts on “Week 2 and other milestones

  1. Pingback: Week 4 (again, or maybe for the first time) | Cheaper Than Therapy

  2. Pingback: week 7 + some mundane life tidbits | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

