Week 4 (again, or maybe for the first time)

So I was looking back over my marathon training posts and realized I numbered them wrong starting at week 2 because counting is hard, you guys. I’m not going to do anything about it, I just wanted to let you know that I know.

So to recap, I just finished week FOUR.

Week 1: 23.65
Week 2: 25
Week 3: 29
Week 4: 23

081715

I already mentioned that last week was a recovery week. Myy “long” run was six miles and I did it on the treadmill. It was nice to not have to wear a watch or try to keep a certain pace. I mean, I didn’t HAVE TO. Of course I did anyway because I’m compulsive about that shit.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-15391-1357583433-3

The next three weeks are going to be kind of a big deal: my training plan (that’s a link to the PDF in case you want to see the whole thing) calls for 16, 18 and 20 mile long runs, respectively). I feel confident about the 16 but the 18 and 20 might break me.

I really want to stick to a more aggressive plan because I like the idea of a strong base of high mileage with THREE 20 mile runs in the training cycle. The other day I was telling Milfy (who is on a goddamn European vacation right now but still reading my blog because she loves me so) that I did so poorly in my first marathon because I got sick, went on vacation, was fat, bailed on my 20 miler, etc., etc. Wah wah wah.

tumblr_mhelztqMGr1qjuuqbo1_250

But I also realize my limitations; namely, not having a very strong base going into training. So my backup plan if I don’t feel like the 18 is going to happen without destroying my legs is to do a shorter long run for week 6 (maybe eight miles), 18 for week 7, and then jump back into the plan on week 8.

training plan

I’d miss one 20 miler, but I’d still have two more chances.

So I’m going to TRY to stick to the plan, but if I can’t do it, at least I know the whole thing won’t fall apart. And now, as a reward for boring you with all this mileage talk, here is a cute picture of my kids in a race car.

tumblr_nsze6whAHd1tfjcm2o8_1280There’s a giant Hot Wheels exhibit at the children’s museum right now and they both went apeshit over it. ❤

 

4 thoughts on “Week 4 (again, or maybe for the first time)

  1. Counting is hard. The Run Less, Run Faster app counts the weeks backward (starting from Week 16 and going down), while I count the weeks sequentially. For every weekly update, I have to look at the preceding week to see where I left off.

  2. Can you do the 20 miler with a friend or a group? I had a lot of trouble with the 16 mile runs because I tended do those by myself or started too late and it got too hot and sunny. I did my first 18 mile run as part of a large training run and the 20 milers were also sorta group runs. That helped my psyche a lot too, and also took off any thinking about choosing a route since that was done for me.

    And girls go apeshit for Hot Wheels? But that’s no in the girls section at the toy store!!!

    • That’s a good idea…I know of one running club nearby that does Thursday evening runs but maybe I can hook up with some people than run Sunday mornings. (And yeah, the exhibit didn’t even have any pink princess cars…WEIRD :P)

  3. Pingback: week 7 + some mundane life tidbits | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

