This is how I’m wasting my free time

Sometimes I wonder whether I actually like running or whether I just like drooling over my splits afterward.

mabel

Ever since I got my first smartphone last year, I’ve been tracking my runs using the RunKeeper app in addition to my trusty five year old Garmin Forerunner 110. I use the app to track activities and I use the Garmin as an actual pacing device…and the reason for that is the app mileage always comes up short of the Garmin and the pace is always much slower. Since the Garmin pace and mileage is better, I go with that one, but the discrepancy gives me a little bit of anxiety.

anxious

Take today’s tempo run (which I did OUTSIDE, OMFG SOMEBODYPAYME). The plan called for 7 miles with 5 miles at 9:10 pace. According to the Garmin, I ran it a little fast, but on the RK app, I didn’t even make it into the 9:1Xs.

090215

Obviously I’m erring on the side of THIS ONE.

Screenshot_2015-09-02-11-58-40

HORSESHIT.

I mean, obviously I don’t REALLY care about all of this enough to do anything about it, I’m just hoping the Garmin is the one that’s accurate. Otherwise I’m going to be really disappointed on race day when my 9:04 turns out to be a 9:23.

post-52106-simon-pegg-sad-rain-gif-Imgur-RQWu

What absurd things give you anxiety? 

2 thoughts on “This is how I’m wasting my free time

Leave a Reply

