First world problem: I did not nail my mile repeats :(

So I jumped back into my training plan (or my current version of it) this week after taking a bit of a hiatus during my vacation and I was actually excited yesterday about doing 4×1600 @ 8:24 (with 800 recovery jogs). I totally nailed my 3×1600 @ 8:32 in week 6, so I was a little cocky. Naturally, things did not go well.

I hit 8:28, 8:23, 8:30, 8:35 and my legs felt trashed after the very first mile. During the last mile, I wanted to barf.

Here are a few excuses I’m tossing around:

  • It was hotter than I expected (70s and sunny)
  • I didn’t feel adequately hydrated (haven’t been drinking booze but apparently not enough water either)
  • I’m still feeling sluggish from vacation
  • No strength/conditioning at all last week
  • I probably ran too hard on Monday (7 mile progression averaging 10:00)
  • My training plan is fucked beyond repair

What’s your go-to excuse when you botch a run? What first-world problem are you having this week?

fWP

5 thoughts on “First world problem: I did not nail my mile repeats :(

  1. Pingback: week 10: long run redemption | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

