Dirty books week yaaaay!

You guys, September 27 – October 3 is Banned Books Week! I was all set to add the 2015 dirty books to my reading list except this year the focus is YA fiction which, sorry, #judgingyou. So I decided to read some of the banned classics instead.

There are quite a few banned and challenged books I haven’t read yet. This list includes 46 titles from the Radcliffe Publishing Course Top 100 Novels of the 20th Century that have been the target of ban attempts. I’m going to read the dirtiest ones first! Maybe by Banned Books Week 2016, I’ll have something to report back.

This week I’m reading The Scarlet Letter, which is not technically a banned book, (although it is pretty dirty by 1850s standards!) but it’s been festering in my kindle for more than a year and I need to read it. 

Next on my list is Naked Lunch because I already own that one too.

Recommendations? What is your favorite banned or challenged book? Anyone read them all? Catch-22 and A Farewell to Arms are in my top 5 of all time.

6 thoughts on “Dirty books week yaaaay!

  1. I’ve been wanting to reread the Great Gatsby for awhile now. I loved Gone with the Wind. There’s a handful I feel like I should give a second chance since I’m not 17 and pissed I have to read them.

  2. Pretty much all of the top 10 books on that list are fantastic– Great Gatsby, Catcher in the Rye, To Kill a Mockingbird, 1984, etc. I read the Harry Potter books as a teenager in part to spite my aunt who was convinced they encouraged devil worship.

Leave a Reply

