Week 15 and OMFG RACE WEEK

I’m sort of pleased and also sort of completely horrified going into race week, but before I get into it, I just want to go over a few other things.

First, I have to brag that I replaced my laptop screen all by my damn self last week.

sdfjweirueklj

Okay, all I did was follow a video tutorial on YouTube, but goddamn those screws are tiny.

Codie knocked a lamp over onto my laptop and cracked the screen. I consulted some friends who are smarter than me, found a replacement at a decent price and had the thing up and running within a few days. I’m happy to report the lamp also made a full recovery.

Second, DAYLIGHT SAVING HOLY FUCK.

tumblr_lto81z2UFf1qd1ucjo3_250

I know. If there’s anything more annoying than DST, it’s people complaining about it. And that annoyance is probably compounded when those people are parents who are ripping on you for daring to sleep an hour longer than they did. But I was up at 5:30 4:30 Sunday morning and I need everyone to know about it. And with the plague that’s befallen us, it couldn’t have come at a more inconvenient time.

sdflsjkdfjd

SRSLY WTF IT’S NOT TIME TO WAKE UP YET WHY CAN’T YOU TELL TIME?

So anyway, it’s race week.

I’m STILL SICK, plus Codie got another ear infection and I’ve been up nursing her through the night so it’s been difficult to find the time to get MYSELF well. That may sound selfish and/or insensitive toward the baby but it’s just a reality that when parents get sick, they don’t have the luxury of hybernating it away.

tumblr_lto81z2UFf1qd1ucjo5_250

My cough morphed into a head cold that’s had me blowing gallons of snot all over the house. And – probably to my detriment – I stuck with the plan last week and ran 22 miles.

110115

Whatever.

This week I finally gave in. I’ve run zero miles and I’ve been going to bed at 8:30. Codie had been waking up every 1.5-2 hours, but I think she’s finally on the mend too– last night she only woke up twice and those 3.5 hour chunks of uninterrupted sleep seemed like a tremendous luxury.

And I know I said this last week too, but I really do think I’ll be okay by Saturday. It would take a LOT to keep me from the starting line. Like, heart palpitations and projectile vomit. I’m hoping to get in at least one 3 mile shakeout run, but if I end up not running at all before the race, I think it’ll be worth not risking a relapse.

tumblr_lto81z2UFf1qd1ucjo6_250

Any advice for me? Encouraging words? Also feel free to tell me what a dumbfuck I am for thinking it was a good idea to train for a marathon with two little kids.

8 thoughts on “Week 15 and OMFG RACE WEEK

    • Willful stupidity? I really felt like I was getting over it last week! When I’m sick it rarely lasts more than a few days so I think I was in denial. But I know I overdid it and the lack of sleep took a toll. This time, I really think I’m getting over it though.

  1. I don’t think it’s dumb to train for a marathon when you have two little kids. I’m more in awe of you. The worst thing I have to deal with is my cat whining extra loudly because I dared to go running before feeding him.

  2. I think you will be fine if you don’t run the shakeout or if you do. I’ve been told multiple times it doesn’t matter how little you run the week before a race. Better to run less than too many miles. You can always do a really short run the day before. Doesn’t have to be 3 miles.

Leave a Reply

