Couch to 5k in less than a week

So I’m registered for a 5k on Thanksgiving and since I race so seldom, I really don’t like to waste my money on just going out there and having fun.

alcohol

Unfortunately I’ve done almost jack shit for two weeks and I’ve lost a lot of strength. I can barely do 10 push-ups without collapsing. I am still sore from a little light lifting I did on THURSDAY. And yesterday I planned to run three miles on the treadmill and barely made it to two.

stress-cry-a-lot-gurl-girls

So I have resigned myself to likely not PRing but I’d still like to put up a decent effort. I put together a plan for this week that I think will be gentle enough not to hurt me but with hope, will enable me to run moderately hard on Thursday. I should note I threw this together in about five minutes but I’m pretty sure everything will work out the way it’s supposed to.

look at the flowers lizzie

So here’s the plan:

Today – 2 miles easy, outside
Sunday – rest
Monday – weights  (arms/core); cycling
Tuesday – 3 mile progression @ 9:15 avg (don’t know how likely on that pace)
Wednesday – rest
Thursday – 5k of triumph!

triumph

2 thoughts on “Couch to 5k in less than a week

  1. Heh, I’m signed up for a half marathon in 2 weeks and I think I really will just be running that for funsies based on how horrible I felt during my long run today. I don’t know about you but I think I would have a hard time running a 5K PR after marathon training. I always think I can run a good 5K while training for a half but I find it hard to but in the right speedwork while also working on endurance.

Leave a Reply

