Life updates: the somebody better fucking read this edition

Oh…hey! [taps mic] Anyone still out there? I haven’t visited this trash heap in quite a while. I’ve been trying to make better use of my time by reading books and doing paid work rather than sitting around interneting, with mixed results. I also ran one race, also with mixed results.

Reading!

For reasons I can’t even explain, it never occurred to me that Kindle has an Android app. When I downloaded the Kindle app, my reading increased by 3000%. I’ve read a lot of very easy novels, novellas and short stories, nothing that requires a study guide or for the most part even being fully awake. But after something of a drought, I’m happy to be reading ANYTHING again.

These are all the ones I’ve finished this year, most recent first.

Breakfast of Champions (Kurt Vonnegut) (If you’re American, you have to like it.)
Running: A Love Story (Jen A. Miller) (A+! More on this soon!)
The Bell Jar (Sylvia Plath) (5-STAR MUST READ)
Sour Candy (Kealan Patrick Burke) (Really good, creepy short story.)
The Yellow Wallpaper (Charlotte Perkins Gilman) (Classic short story. A 27 page feminist rant disguised as a psychological thriller. Brilliant narrative on intellectual oppression.)
A Head Full of Ghosts (Paul Tremblay) (Well-written, but not what I expected.)
Mr. Mercedes (Stephen King) (Fantastic, but some parts involving child abuse were difficult for me to read.)
Joyland (Stephen King) (Brilliant. I laughed, I cried, etc.)
Big Driver (Stephen King) (A short story/revenge thriller, gripping but not earth-shattering.)
UR (Stephen King) (Fun short story.)
A Good Marriage (Stephen King) (This one was a novella but I wished it were a full-length novel. I wanted there to be 400 more pages.)
1922 (Stephen King) (Bonus short story at the end of A Good Marriage. Really unsettling. Brilliant twist at the end.)
Pretty Dead + Stay Dead by Anne Frasier (I read the first one in the series, Play Dead, last year. I grew to like the characters, but the first one was definitely the best.)
Blindsighted (Karin Slaughter)
Triptych (Karin Slaughter)
Fractured (Karin Slaughter) (What can I say about Karin Slaughter? She writes very good police procedural/crime thrillers but…every single one I’ve read has been focused on extremely violent rape and torture. I started checking the plot summaries before downloading (I usually just go for the ones with the best reviews) and found ALL of her novels involve rape in some way. Oh, one about child exploitation/sex slavery. So yeah, I got tired of the subject matter.)

bell-jar

Running!

I was signed up for a 5k on Superbowl Sunday in which I was planning a spectacular PR and a triumphant return to 8 minute miles and it was canceled. I received a refund check in the mail with no further explanation.

The only other race that worked with our schedule was a 6 miler on March 5 (when my parents were in town), and wouldn’t you know it, the week before the race I got sick again.

sdlfjsd

With my parents around during the day while husband was at work, I was actually able to get some rest and I got well much faster. I spent two days feverish and achy, barely able to stand upright; on the third day the illness went to my sinuses and respiratory system and I battled endless snot and coughing. By race day, I felt marginally better, but I hadn’t done any kind of physical activity beyond shuffling from the couch to the bedroom to the kitchen for three days and still wasn’t 100%. If I hadn’t paid for the entry (and hadn’t had brunch planned with friends post-race), I would definitely have skipped. But I make bad decisions so I raced anyway.

It…coulda been worse?

My training for the 5k that didn’t happen had been adequate. I definitely would have PRed at the 5k. But my 10k PR is 49:24 and I knew there was no way in hell I’d even come close to that (even in good health, even running 6 instead of 6.2) but I thought maybe I could come close to 52 minutes (like, 8:40 miles). In another world where I wasn’t sick, maybe I could have. In this world, I started out way too fast (8:30s! Yeah, I started out faster than my best-case pace! How’s that for strategy?! LOLOLOLOL!), crashed at mile 4 and practically crawled across the finish line, humiliated, in 53:41.

My splits on the Garmin aren’t quite accurate because I forgot to start it and it took about a quarter-mile into the race to sync. But it still indicates just how badly I failed at pacing.

Oof.

Oof.

Afterwards, I ran another two and some change along the canal with friends (one of them is running a half next weekend so we all indulged her) and then finally, FINALLY we went to breakfast. I didn’t cough at all while I was running, but I coughed into my arm continuously at brunch, to the delight of my friends. Strong black coffee helped. As did a lavender prosecco.

lsdfsldjkfsldkm

Earlier this week I ran four miles and then ended up taking a few more days off due to some nap shenanigans with the baby. But it hasn’t been a bad thing to get a little more rest– I’m still blowing snot everywhere. (But luckily I’ve avoided the nasty cough that stuck with me for so long the last time I was sick.) This morning I ran a tempo, 6 miles with 4 at just above a 9 minute pace. I’d love to just pile on more mileage for the rest of the week, but I’ll probably play it safe and do some conditioning tomorrow and an easy long run on Sunday.

That’s about all I’ve got right now! Read any good books lately?

 

5 thoughts on “Life updates: the somebody better fucking read this edition

  1. Pingback: shit I’ve been reading | Cheaper Than Therapy

  2. Pingback: 2016 year in running | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

