Five weeks to half marathon greatness: week 1

So I didn’t precisely follow THE PLAN this week but I came close. Eleven minutes into my tempo Wednesday, my eldest decided to throw an hysterical fit at the gym childcare (a first for us!) and I had to go rescue her. A lot of her preschool friends go to the Y so she usually has a good time there, but in hindsight I think she was feeling crappy that day and I felt bad that I didn’t see it earlier. But I’m not gonna lie: I was IN THE ZONE so it sucked having to stop my run. #mommymartyr

Thursday was supposed to be an easy run + strength day so I compromised and ran my missed tempo and then did 20 minutes of light strength work. Thirty pushups, some tricep dips and bicep curls, a few rounds of ab exercises and some squats and lunges and then I called it a day. I’m reeeeeally trying not to skip out on the strength work this month. But it’s so boring. I hate it.

My tempo miles were 9:01. 8:36, 8:40, with a warmup and cooldown mile on each end. I’m especially pleased with the effort because it was sleeting and windy that day and I was cold and tired. The plan called for a rest day Friday but I went ahead and did 3 easy miles to make up for THAT missed run.

Saturday: 5 miles at “GHMP.” I came close to my goal pace, but didn’t quiet hit it.
Sunday: 7 miles. THE PLAN called for 10 but since I crammed all my mileage into the latter part of the week, I cut it short. (I did 10 last week though so it’s cool.)

This week

A 15k practice race. Of course there are zero 15Ks within a 50 mile radius this weekend, so I’ll be “racing” myself. (I did find about 300 5Ks though, and a marathon and half marathon…which I briefly considered running, but a last-minute entry would cost me 75 bucks and I just can’t justify that expense for a practice race.)

I may drive somewhere nice to run just for a change of scenery though. Running circles around my neighborhood gets a little tedious, especially getting into the double digits.

In summary, a survey: 

Week 1 was:

A) Kind of a failure
B) PRETTY PRETTY PRETTY GOOD.

Leave a Reply

