Five weeks to half marathon greatness: week 3

We road tripped Thursday through Sunday last week so I knew I probably wouldn’t be able to complete all of my runs, but I think the runs I missed might have hurt more than helped anyway.

Monday: Strength day
Tuesday: 5.5 easy. I don’t know why I thought the plan called for 5.5; it was supposed to just be 5.
Wednesday: 45 minute tempo. I ran this as a progression, and skipped the cool-down mile at the end. My splits were 9:58, 9:32, 9:13, 9:14, 8:50. I felt good and was pleased with the effort.
Thursday was supposed to be 3 miles + strength and I honestly can’t remember if intentionally skipped the run or just forgot about it but I went to the gym and did a decent strength workout; no running.

NO RAGRETS
Saturday: 11 and some change. I ran on the Katy Trail in Missouri from Clinton to Calhoun, which was in the direction we were going to be driving anyway. My husband hung out with the kids at his grandparents’ place and then picked me up at a gas station. The distance showed about 10 miles on the map but it ended up being closer to 12 once I ran through Clinton and actually got onto the trail. There were some tough miles in the middle when the sun was out and there was no shade, but overall I felt good. I averaged 9:50s which is way, WAY slower than my GHMP, but it wasn’t too bad for a mid-morning training run in 70+ temps. Immediately after my run, we got in the car and drove four hours to Quincy, IL to visit some cousins. I stretched quickly and kept my feet up on the dashboard most of the way so I didn’t get too stiff. I probably smelled pretty bad, but there was nothing I could do about that.

tumblr_m6aosrdKYK1qfy2kdo2_500

Total: 21.5 miles

I’m okay with last week even though I didn’t nail all my runs. In hind(ish)sight, this plan was pretty ambitious for me. The whole pace-run-before-long-run thing and the three miles on strength day are workouts I’m not accustomed to doing, but I think at least TRYING to keep up with a more ambitious plan is helping more than if I were to just bulldoze through a few easy runs every week. I’m still not confident in a PR but at least I’ll know I tried as hard as I could (and probably didn’t hurt myself).

The plan calls for another tough week before a race week taper, and I have to decide whether tomorrow’s 10×400 will help or hurt me. I may do a speed workout that I’m a little more comfortable with, and that’s less likely to trash my quads.

Everything else 

We’ve done this Missouri trip to visit my husband’s grandparents almost every year since we’ve lived in Indiana. I’ve blogged about it a few times. This year we celebrated Paw-Paw’s 90th birthday and although all that driving with two little kids is kind of a harrowing journey, we feel incredibly privileged to be able to visit them at all, and to give our kids a chance to know their great-grandparents. I wish I’d been able to visit my own grandparents more often when they were alive, and I wish my kids had known them.

2016-04-22 15.19.42

I’m glad that I don’t still live in the town where I grew up, because I think moving around has the potential for some experiences and opportunities you may not have otherwise, but I am incredibly envious of people who have parents, grandparents, siblings, aunts, uncles and cousins all living in the same town. Not only do they have like, BABYSITTERS out the ASS, but their children get to have close relationships with extended family. Our close friends are our family here, and I’m grateful for them, but it’d be nice if we could see our FAMILY-family more often too.

OH SHIT, TRAIN.

OH SHIT, TRAIN.

2 thoughts on “Five weeks to half marathon greatness: week 3

  1. Yeah, I feel ya on relatives. I grew up with my father’s side of the family, and we saw them about twice a year. My mother’s side of the family all grew up together in Seoul, Korea, so they’re all very close. Sometimes I wonder what my life would have been like if I grew up with them. One cousin and I are close, despite the fact that we don’t see each for years and we speak different languages (I speak English to him and he responds back in Korean), because we’re the female/male version of each other. Sometimes I feel sad for having missed out of growing up with him, but at the same time, I wouldn’t have had the same opportunities in Korea. My life would have been completely different. I would have been different.

Leave a Reply

