Stupid clumsy non-running-related injury #3242348

The other night (I can’t remember exactly when but it was at least four days ago) I was stumbling through my room in the dark and banged my shin right the fuck into the side of my bed.

Because the kids were asleep, I held back a torrent of 140-decibel curses, but the pain brought tears to my eyes. I iced it for 10 or 15 minutes before going to bed, and the next morning I hardly remembered it happened. I expected to see a ghastly purple bruise, but there was only faint discoloration and I pretty much forgot about it.

Then yesterday after running about four miles of hills and then going for a long walk with the kids, I noticed my leg was hurting. It hurt enough to cause some awkwardness when I walked, so I did some rest-ice-compression-elevation and it felt a little better. It didn’t occur to me until this morning that it hurt in exactly the same place where I banged it on the bed last week. I’m guessing some stress from the running or walking aggravated the injured spot, but it seems bizarre that it could hurt so much, so many days later. I’m one of those people who stubbornly refuses to go to the doctor unless bones are protruding, but I’m considering a visit to the sports MD if the pain continues.

Other than that, last week was uneventful. I did a couple of run/walks with Codie in the stroller and Kenzie on her bike, some long walks and only one actual run, at 10:00/mile+ and very casual. I also ate a lot of garbage and drank a lot of beer and gained five pounds. It’s nice to take some time off after a race to regroup and be slovenly (oh and injure yourself trying to get into bed). but now I’m ready to get back to work.

I mentioned I was signed up for a fall half marathon, but I also registered for a couple of summer fun runs.

June 4 – Rainbow Run 5k. I’d love to PR but regardless, it’s for a good cause (Indy Pride + HIV education, testing and treatment) and takes place in a part of the city where I don’t ordinarily run.

July 4 – Run ~4~ Freedom. My 4 mile PR is 30:45 so I have virtually no chance of a personal best here but it’ll be interesting to see if I can even come close. It’s also 5 minutes from my house and with a discount code, cost me less than 20 bucks.

September 10 – Hendricks County Half Marathon…uh, yeah, another half. It’s a month before the other one but it was only 40 bucks and very close to home so I couldn’t resist. If I’m smart, I’ll treat this as a training run but knowing me, I’ll try to PR. And blow it.

I ALMOST signed up for a mile road race June 2, but I decided I’d want to train a little longer than just 3 weeks in order to avoid an embarrassing 8:00+ finish. There’s another one in the fall if I still feel like I want to torture myself by racing one mile.

Question! What’s the stupidest way you’ve ever injured yourself? Several years ago I had an alcohol-in-high-heels related injury and had to miss a race I paid 60 bucks for. I haven’t worn heels since.

sdflwejkflei

2 thoughts on “Stupid clumsy non-running-related injury #3242348

  1. My list of stupid injuries could go on longer than I should admit. An especially stupid one was slipping getting off a friend’s sailboat and breaking my toe. I couldn’t wear real shoes for a week or so. I also once tripped over a soccer ball and broke my foot.

  2. Oh Lord, I couldn’t pick one “stupidest” injury. I’ve walked directly into a picnic table that I saw and just… didn’t change course to avoid, I slammed my finger in the door of the vacuum closet I was using as a hidey-hole, stepping into a pothole… I almost always have bruises on my thighs and hips because I am always running into doorknobs and countertops.

Leave a Reply

