Last week this morning

In case you don’t feel like reading this whole thing here’s the TLDR version: I ran 23 miles last week, I’m sick and I have a possible back-of-the-knee-lower-hamstring-area injury.

Before that happened though, man I had a nice week. I cut back on my long run but did a couple longer ones during the week so I ended up with about the same mileage as the week before.

Monday: weights + 3 @ 9:50 (splits: 10:06, 9:52, 9:42).
Tuesday: 5.2 @ 9:35  (Warmup;3 miles @ 9:17, 9:15, 9:12/cooldown)
Wednesday: Weights + 30 minutes cycling. The idea of running after my weight routine nearly brought me to tears so instead I did hill intervals on the stationary bike.
Thursday: Treadmill – 6. We went to the state fair in the morning and I didn’t run until 4 p.m. when it was approximately 170 degrees outside so I ran to the gym (half mile), did 5 on the treadmill at about 8:45 (with some moderate hills thrown in for good measure) and then ran home.
Friday: weights + 3 @ 9:48 (splits: 10:32, 9:32, 9:28)
Saturday: 6.2 @ 9:50. I set my alarm for 6 a.m. but just as I was sneaking out the door at 6:30, Codie woke up. I didn’t want to be an ass and wake up my husband on his one day to sleep in so I hung around and handed her off to him when he and Kenzie woke up around 7. It’s been really hot lately and there was a rainstorm moving in so it was also obnoxiously humid. I kept the pace relaxed and finished with every article of clothing I had on dripping with sweat.

Unrelated: Later Saturday we did a bottle share at a friend’s house. If you follow me on Twitter, you may have noticed I got about 50 new Untappd badges in one day.

sdfkdhskjh

Relax, the kid was napping the whole time.

Total: 23.4 miles

So, the leg thing. I believe the injury coincided with me deciding on a lark to use the seated leg curl machine at the gym. I generally don’t use a lot of the machines except for the calf press because I think they’re useless and boring. I do squats and lunges and dead lifts and a bunch of body weight moves I swiped from Jillian Michaels.

Anyway, the next day the area behind my knee on the back of my left leg felt weird. Not really all that sore, but weak. I noticed it mostly when I was trying to get up off the floor after playing with the kids. I went about my business and continued running and lifting (sans leg curl) and it didn’t hurt during my workouts but felt sore later on. I’ve been icing it and doing PT exercises consistent with a hamstring injury. (I don’t know that it’s a hammy, but it seems safe to treat it that way until it either goes away or gets worse.) I haven’t run since Sunday because I’ve been sick anyway and it feels better today, so I’m hoping by the time I’m well enough to run, the leg thing will have resolved itself too.

Leave a Reply

