there will literally be blood

Hi!

Naturally the day after I vowed to blog every day, I did not blog. And the day after that, I also did not blog. After we put the kids to bed Thursday night, I sat down on the couch with a glass of wine and my kindle and didn’t move for three hours except once to refill my glass of wine and it was glorious. I thought briefly about getting up to write something and then I was like, haha no way, fuck that.

But I have so many interesting things to catch you up on now!

Thursday I took the girls to the children’s museum with some friends and Kenzie had a really weird accident which resulted in torrents of blood but no permanent damage. She was trying to jump up in front of a window ledge and her chin caught the ledge and her teeth caught her tongue. I don’t know if you know this about tongue wounds, but they bleed. A LOT. I rushed Kenzie to a bathroom and then proceeded to stand there wondering what to do while she screamed and bled into the sink. Sorry I don’t have pics but it looked something like this:

torrent-of-blood

Luckily my friend spotted a museum staffer and asked if they had a first aid office. They did way better– they instantly radioed for an EMT to come right up to us. Can you believe that? I had no idea the museum had EMTs on staff but I was so relieved I almost cried. By the time he arrived, I had talked Kenzie into rinsing her mouth a little with some water so I could try to see the extent of her injury. I didn’t know if I was going to see missing teeth or chucks of tongue or what, but I was relieved to just see two little cuts that, though they looked small, kept pooling with blood as soon as she’d rinse it out. Did I mention the blood?

blood

Anyway, the EMT took a look at her tongue bites and determined they were straight punctures and no chunks were missing. (I KNOW.) And then he radioed for a popsicle.

We took Kenzie to the doctor just as a precaution and he said it would heal just fine and she got another popsicle. Codie got one too just for being the baby sister.

I guess that’s really the only interesting thing to catch you up on. I also finished a book and went running but since I’m doing this whole blogging every day thing I’ll probably save that stuff for subsequent postings.

Kisses!

 

Leave a Reply

