Week of 1/2 and 1/9

We prepped for freezing rain Friday (and by “prepped” I mean “bought a ton of alcohol”) but surface temperatures stayed above freezing and it didn’t rain as much as predicted so we lucked out. But you never regret buying too much alcohol.

I luv u aldi

I meant to get over here early in the week to do my training report but I never got around to it and now the week is over so I’m gonna have to drop the last two weeks on you again.

Last week was pretty uneventful. The weekend was rough. Codie has been cutting her 2-year molars for what seems like weeeeeks and she woke up every couple of hours Saturday and Sunday night. Lucky for all of us she has been sleeping a lot better this week *knock on wood*. (Except for last night when she was awake from 2-3:30 a.m. for no apparent reason…guh.)

Sunday 1/1: 3 @ 9:47 (outside) I usually don’t run Sundays but I felt obligated to run on the first day of the year to prove that I wasn’t too hungover to do it.
Monday 1/2: lifted things; climbed 60 stories on the stairclimber and sweat approximately 300 gallons.
Tuesday 1/3: 6 @ 9:42 (outside) I did a progression that I am pretty freaking proud of: 10:26, 10:06, 9:55, 9:36, 9:23, 8:46, 8:18! And my heel didn’t hurt afterward which makes me even happier.
Thursday 1/5: 5 @ 10:04 (outside). There were a couple inches of snow on the ground, which I was prepared for, but I was underdressed (I was thinking it was going to be more of a warm, early-winter snow rather than a frigid, dead of winter snow) and even after I was back inside, I could not get warm. I had a hot coffee and then resorted to a hot bath in the middle of the day, much to the bewilderment of my kids.

My eyeballs are frozen.

Friday 1/6: weights + 2 @ 9:17
Saturday: 1/7: 6 @ 9:06. I was hoping to make this a longer run but I was on the treadmill and exhausted from a weekend of no sleep and totally wasn’t feeling it. Probably started out a little fast too.

Total: 22 miles

This week I set an arbitrary goal of 30 miles and accomplished that, but it probably won’t happen again.

Monday: weights + 2 @ 9:18
Tuesday: 6.35 @ 9:27 progression.
Wednesday: Weights + 2. I know I ran, but I forgot to log it in Runkeeper. I can’t imagine it was anything extraordinary.¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Thursday: Double run day! I ran 8×400 @ 1:59 (with .25 recovery jogs) on the treadmill in the morning for a total of 5.25 and then went out for a group run in the evening (5.3 @ 10:47). Day’s total: 10.55. I would actually have liked to have done a couple more of the 400s but it was unbearably hot in the gym that morning (some freak HVAC thing) and I was ready to throw up and pass out. On top of that, there is NO COLD RUNNING WATER anywhere in the gym (except the water fountains) so after sweating buckets I had to take a hot shower. It was really gross, you guys.(I usually don’t shower at the gym but I had to be somewhere right after.)
Friday: 3 @ 9:39. Friday was a lifting day but I skipped most of the leg stuff so I could still run.
Saturday: A brutal 8.1 @ 10:05 on the treadmill. My pace doesn’t look that bad, but that doesn’t include the multiple times I paused the treadmill to stretch and drink water and then check my phone just to put off starting back up again. It was awful, you guys. My legs were trashed from the heavy running week and if we’re being honest I was a little hungover. At mile 7, I decided I was done – 30 miles be damned – but then I sat down, drank some water and stretched again and decided I could suffer through one more mile.***

Total: 32 miles!

dimitri

I haven’t run a 30 mile week since last May and I don’t plan on doing it again any time soon. With my current schedule and lifting routine, it’s really not sustainable long-term. I’d have to drop a lifting day or do a double every week and I just don’t see that happening consistently.

Upcoming:

I’ve been running outside a little more and my heel seems to be cooperating. Sometimes it’s a little stiff in the evenings but the rolling takes care of it. I’d like to get to where I’m running outside exclusively but since the treadmill is so much easier on my heel, I’ll probably ease back in that direction gradually. I’m probably going to do a St. Patrick’s half  marathon in March, I found a code for 10% off. I still need to choose and register for a February 5k.

***So yeah, due to shitty math and forgetting to log my mileage in runkeeper  I thought I was only at 21.9 for the week, which is why I insisted on running 8.1 miles on the treadmill when I was feeling like garbage. I could have run 6.1 and still hit 30 for the week. But…since I’m probably doing a half in March, it’s not a terrible idea to commit to long runs again. 😀

One thought on “Week of 1/2 and 1/9

  1. Pingback: January recap | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

