Week of 1/16 and 1/23

Well it’s already the weekend again. They say you make time for the things you really care about (which is kind of bullshit because it only applies to people privileged enough to have discretionary time, but still); for me the blog always comes last. So in spite of all the stuff swirling around in my head, I never made it over here. I’m also working on a blog post about Real Shit, but I’m struggling to get my thoughts together so I’ll probably publish that later on this week.

Week of 1/16

Monday: weights + 1. Seems silly to log one mile but it brought my total to 20 for the week so…
Tuesday: 4 @ 9:05 progression outside. Last mile 8:40!
Wednesday: Weights + treadmill 2.5 @ 8:37. I did 30 second sprints at about 8.8-9.0MPH. I didn’t keep track of how many I did but I was running about quarter mile recovery jogs so maybe six?
Thursday: 3 @ 9:05. Evening run outside. The plan was to do 4 or 5 miles but it was dark and pouring rain so I just did the bare minimum.
Friday: weights + 3.1 @ 9:22 outside.
Saturday: 7 @ 9:22 outside.
Total: 20ish miles

Week of 1/23

Monday: weights + 3 @ 9:10 outside
Tuesday: 6 @ 9:08 progression outside. 9:37, 9:23, 9:13, 9:09, 8:51, 8:29
Wednesday: AM weights + treadmill 3 @ 8:25/PM 4.8 @ 9:03 outside.
In the morning, I did 30-second sprints on the treadmill at about 8.8-9.0MPH and recovery jogs at about 6.3MPH.
For the evening run, I showed up for a group run at a local running store. They were demo-ing the new UA Bandit AND they had snacks and beer for us after the run. I had a slice of pizza and a coffee stout and then had to run a mile back home, which was interesting. #ihaveanironstomach
The Bandits? Freaking rock. I looooved them. For a second run of the day, I felt fantastic, averaging 8:40s for the three miles I did with the group. I’m not getting paid to say that but I’d let them pay me if they wanted to! I really can’t afford $100 for shoes right now.
Thursday: I was planning an easy 5 or 6 miles but I had an awful night and was too tired to run. I could barely keep my eyes open while we were putting the kids to bed and I passed put as soon as they were asleep.
Friday: Weights  + treadmill 2 @ 8:37. I did (roughly) 4×400 at 7:30 (8.0MPH) with recovery jogs at about 9:40 (6.2MPH) (Sidenote: I had fun looking at this treadmill conversion chart, which also shows equivalents for incline.)
Saturday: 9.3 @ 9:49 outside. The plan was to run 10 miles but I ended up back at my house at roughly 9.3 and I didn’t feel like circling back so I just stopped. It was in the 20s and my neck buff was frozen from pulling it over my face and breathing through it, and my legs were just really tired from hammering them all week long. I’m pleased with the week’s output but I usually need a cutback after week’s like this. (Although I’d eventually like to be running at least 30 mpw consistently.)

Total: 28ish miles

These past two weeks are noteworthy because I did almost all of my running outside and my heel really hasn’t been bothering me! It was a little stiff yesterday after my long run but it feels fine today. I feel like the consistent strength training is finally starting to make a difference, which encourages me all the more to continue doing it. I don’t dread lifting days quite as much as I used to. Of course I’d always rather be running, but I do appreciate what the lifting is doing to keep me strong and healthy.

One thought on “Week of 1/16 and 1/23

  1. Pingback: January recap | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

