subversive shit I did last week (2/12-2/24)

I may space these posts out a bit more, for my own well-being. They require a lot more thought –and thoughtfulness– than my weekly running posts and there’s just no way I’m gonna be able to keep up consistent blog posting for any meaningful period of time. I’ll try for every 1.5 to two weeks and see how that goes.

Who I supported

  • I made a small donation to #IllGoWithYou, a movement offering allyship and assistance to people who are transgender or gender-nonconforming. The IGWY button is intended to advertise allyship in public places. When asked, allies go into bathrooms and other spaces with people who may be afraid or concerned about their safety– and not just transgender individuals, but also a variety of people whose presentation of their gender may not fit the narrow archetypes of binary gender. You can order buttons for yourself, or you can make a donation for buttons to be passed along to an organization at no cost to them. I have a button on my bag and a couple extras so I can offer them to people who ask. Also, my friend is the button-maker. 🙂
  • My local breweries.

Who I contacted

  • I called my reps again to oppose Pruitt for the EPA and we all know how that turned out. This one hurts. When I think about the world my kids are going to inherit, I want to cry.
  • I learned from Teen Vogue that the White House has a comment line again! So I called it and used the script provided in the weekly action checklist to ask for an environmental study on the impact of the DAPL pipeline under Lake Oahe. Our latest atrocity against native people ended with the water protectors setting fire to the Oceti Sakowin camp. I think it’s sort of fitting and poetic that they set it aflame to avoid watching it be destroyed.
  • I also signed the White House petition demanding DJT release his tax returns. (Not that I think it’ll do any good.)
  • I made repeated calls and emails to the DOJ, DOE and the White House and asked them to continue to enforce Title IX protections for transgender students, again to no avail. This is another really fucked up loss, you guys. It’s a really shitty, spiteful move that will allow states and schools to decide whether or not they want to enforce (or ignore) measures designed to protect vulnerable students. Trans kids will be harmed because of this and it makes me unspeakably sad and angry.

What I read

  • When Things Go Missing. Mostly unrelated to the Resistance, but it’s a really breathtaking piece about grief and loss.
  • If your anti-Trump movement is not anti-colonial, you’re wasting your time and ours. “Many of you take issue with Trump, but are absolutely fine with the white supremacist settler colonial system that you and your ancestors have profited from for centuries. You have no real qualms about racism or misogyny, you just don’t want to be reminded of your investments by a loud and overt bastard. Your rallying cry is “make America subtly racist again”. You would give anything in the world to trade Trump for Hillary Clinton or Obama. When the Obama administration’s drone strikes and bombings have caused the very war-torn conditions that refugees are fleeing from. You couple discontent with the Trump administration with a strange nationalist pride. You hold signs that say “this is not us” or “we are better than this”. But Trump is as American as it gets and everyone knows it.”
  • Justin Trudeau is not your friend.
  • The leakers who exposed Gen. Flynn’s lie committed serious–and wholly justified– felonies. “It’s hard to put into words how strange it is to watch the very same people — from both parties, across the ideological spectrum — who called for the heads of Edward Snowden, Chelsea Manning, Tom Drake, and so many other Obama-era leakers today heap praise on those who leaked the highly sensitive, classified SIGINT information that brought down Gen. Flynn.”
  • What we’ll tolerate, and what we won’t. Don’t get me wrong, Milo Y is a human shit stain, and an opportunistic one at that. But it’s interesting and revealing how the right turned on him after probably the only authentic and insightful thing he’s ever said (that queer relationships often involve age and power disparities). I’d be tickled at the idea of Milo experiencing even a fraction of the abuse he’s dealt out to others over the years, except that it came at too high a cost. The right used him to reinforce their position that gay men are perverts, which will only serve to further marginalize and abuse LGBTQ people.
  • And a fun one: I couldn’t stop drunk dialing my senator
  • And I watched The Talk: Race In America on PBS. I want to try as much as I can to help amplify the voices of the families who have experienced tragedy at the hands of those sworn to protect them.

What I did

Well, I was really excited about going to an angry town hall meeting, but I…totally forgot to go. It was yesterday evening at 6, and I thought about it as recently as yesterday afternoon but it wasn’t until after dinner when we were putting the kids in the bath that it occurred to me I’d forgotten to go. Ah, well. It was rumored that our district’s rep had not even responded to the invite so it might have just been a bunch of angry people (or worse, rabid trump supporters) showing up to yell at each other.

Self-care 

This week I finally remembered I should also be keeping track of the good things and the small victories instead of just the colossally depressing things and the crushing defeats. Here are some of them.

2017-02-23-21-03-36

Read all of my subversive shit posts.

One thought on “subversive shit I did last week (2/12-2/24)

Leave a Reply

