running week of 2/20

I’m pleased with last week’s running. I (barely) pulled another 30 mile week and still managed to show up for all my lifting days too. 2013 was the last time I was regularly running 30+ miles a week. I got into the 40s and even hit 50 once or twice, but I wasn’t doing enough strength training and I think I narrowly avoided a stress fracture. I’m going to try to not do that again.

Monday: weights
Tuesday: 6 @ 9:09. I was really, really tired so 9:09 looks pretty damn good to me.
Wednesday: AM weights + PM 5 @ 8:26. Numbers I haven’t seen in a long time– every mile was under 9:00!
Thursday: Impulsively, I decided to see how fast I could run a mile (spoiler alert: 7:36), even though I was still a little tight from running (probably too fast) Wednesday evening. So I did a mile warm-up, ran one mile quick…ish, and then ran three more rather slow and painful miles for a total of 5 @ 9:32. I think if properly trained and motivated, maybe I could do it in under 7:00. At one time, I could so I think it’s possible to do it again.
Friday: weights + 3 @ 9:33.
Saturday: 11 @ 9:23. This one was brutal you guys. It was 25 degrees with 25 mph gusts and flurries and it seemed like there was snow blowing in my eyes no matter which direction I turned. I knew the weather was going to be crappy and I’d planned to run on the treadmill, but at the last minute I ran back in and changed into my cold weather gear. (And even more miraculously, all my cold weather gear was clean and in the first place I looked.) It was miserable outside, but I still think double digits on the treadmill would have been worse.
Sunday: REST

Total: 30

I’ve never run more than 12 miles outside of marathon training so I thought it’d be fun to do 13 or 14 miles for no reason. Silly I know, but since I’m not training for anything right now, I’m all about the arbitrary goals. (I would still like to do a 5k eventually, maybe in March if the prices aren’t obnoxious.)

One thought on “running week of 2/20

  1. Pingback: February recap | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

