subversive shit I did last week (month)

Uuuuuugh, I haven’t posted one of these since March 14. I started writing this post a few weeks ago and never finished it and now some of the issues I called/wrote my reps about have already been decided. Some of these links are old news. But instead of deleting and replacing, I decided to keep everything here and just add the more recent stuff so that you and I have a (somewhat) accurate record of things. Maybe someday we can look back at this time and feel grateful that it’s over.

Who I supported

Who I contacted

  • I called my reps to oppose Indiana SB 309, which would reduce solar energy incentives. Just another example of Indiana rolling back progress, y’all! Some concessions have been made on this legislation, but it’s still a POS and it is still moving forward.
  • I called my reps to oppose HB 1494, which would undermine Indiana’s already weak protections from factory farm pollution.
  • I used Indivisble’s script for calling my reps to oppose SCOTUS pick Neil Gorsuch (more on this below!).
  • I called my reps to oppose the president’s budget proposal. The weekly action checklist has a great script for this.
  • I contacted my reps to oppose S.J. Res. 34, the CRA resolution to kill the FCC’s privacy rules.
  • And just a note, all of these are from last month. I got burned out on the phone calls and I have called exactly zero reps this month. I will get back on it though, I promise.

What I read

What I did – This has been the hardest area for me. There are a ton of events and meetings that interest me but they’re either in the evening during dinnertime/the kids’ bedtime when it’s hard for me to get away or weekends when I’m selfish with my family time. I try to work extra hard in other areas to make up for it but I know that more than anything, so many organizations just need people to show up. So I’m going to try to do better at that.

Some good things + good people

  • Maxine Waters
  • April Ryan
  • We saved Obamacare! Or rather, DJT saved it with his ineptitude.
  • We stalled Gorsuch’s nomination for another week! Update (copied from Peace is Loud): “While Sen. Jeff Merkley spoke against Neil Gorsuch all night (15 hours!) on the Senate floor, communities held their own People’s Filibusters across the country, everywhere from Colorado to Arizona. (And yes, while the Senate chose to go nuclear and Gorsuch’s confirmation now seems inevitable, we consider it a victory that people mobilized and pressured Democrats not to give up without a fight.”)
  • Federal judges in Hawaii and Maryland ruled against Trump’s Muslim travel ban.
  • Women dressed as characters from The Handmaid’s Tale to protest a Texas anti-abortion bill.
  • Nevada ratified the ERA
  • An Indianapolis judge blocked a state mandate forcing women to undergo an ultrasound 18 hours before having an abortion.
  • Also from Peace is Loud: “We already knew women were leading the resistance, but a new survey of progressive activists showed that women made 86% of the recent calls to Congress. Rebel girls, we hear the revolution, and we salute you.”
  • Steve Bannon was removed from the National Security Council (that DJT put him on BY ACCIDENT).
  • In a major victory for LGBTQ+ rights, a federal court ruled that the Civil Rights Act protects workers from discrimination based on sexual orientation.
  • The White House lifted the federal hiring freeze that led to a backlog of benefits claims at the Veterans Affairs (VA) Department, delays in the processing of Social Security checks, staff shortages at federal prisons, the closure of childcare facilities at military bases and fewer workers at the Food and Drug Administration to work on drug approvals. (Because of course it did, ass.)

Read all of my subversive shit posts.

2 thoughts on “subversive shit I did last week (month)

  1. I can’t handle this much awesome! Kudos to you my friend. I haven’t been particularly politically subversive, but I have been making more of an effort to do more good in general- eg. buying breakfast for my coworkers who had to stay late, donating to different charities, giving away clothes to my local charity shop, etc. I know it’s only a small step, but I definitely think it will develop into something bigger!

Leave a Reply

