another week of unnoteworthy running (4/24)

I had a week!

IDK gif

Aside: I googled “unnoteworthy gif” and found this gif I used in an old post about unnoteworthy runs. MY INTERNETS HAVE COME FULL CIRCLE. Or maybe I just need to broaden my vocabulary.

trump-executive-order-memes-5-58919d4088ef2__605

Monday: Off
Tuesday: 6 @ 9:16. I ran a tempo with 4 miles in the 8:50s, which felt a lot harder than it should have.
Wednesday: Weights
Thursday: 6.1 @ 9:15
Friday: treadmill 3.1 @ 8:44. Usually a lifting day for me, but I didn’t feel like lifting AT ALL so I ran instead.
Saturday: off. I had a FIDO meeting all morning and it was pouring rain and storming anyway, so I pushed my run back to Sunday.
Sunday: 6.2 @ 9:11. Faster than last week’s 10k, but felt a lot harder. It was pretty windy, but I was also just feeling beat-up and tired. My breath felt short the whole time, which is rare for me, and I had a side stitch that wouldn’t go away (it’s actually still a little sore today). I still tried to pull off a fast finish (into a 20mph headwind, uuuugh), but not nearly as fast as I wanted. Last mile in 8:49, last .12 in 7:57.

Total: 21ish miles

I followed the plan/non-plan the way I wanted to but the whole week felt rough, admittedly mostly because of bad decisions on my part–staying up too late, screwing around, drinking too much. But I’m hoping at least part of that rough feeling is due to running a bit harder. Each run last week was more purposeful; I ran harder rather than just putting in a few perfunctory miles to bump up the mileage count. HOWEVER I’m going to try to take better care of myself this week and see if it makes any difference. 😉

I’m also still struggling to strike a balance between all the running I want to do and all the strength work/conditioning I NEED to do. I really like lifting three days a week, especially now that I’m actually getting stronger, but I wish I could run (and run well) on those days, and I really don’t have time to do two quality workouts out a day. (I could run a couple crappy miles on my lifting days but I’m not sure it would have much of an impact.)

And I’m looooathe to complain because I know I’m lucky to be doing as much as I am. But…there it is. I want all the benefits of weightlifting without actually having to do it. And I want to run every day.

cute-well-groomed-spoiled-rotten-kitty-cat

I WANT IT ALL

8 thoughts on “another week of unnoteworthy running (4/24)

    • I have! I don’t have any kettlebells but I’ve tried (inconsistently) to do stuff at home. It’s just hard to stay focused when the kids are with me.

  1. I want to run 3x per week, and I want to do yoga between each run. And I want to do some kind of strength workout at least 2x per week. So that’s 8 workouts per week. This is a big reason I’m taking a break from burlesque.

    • Actually I just want to be strong without having to do strength workouts lol. Glad to hear you’re running again! I am considering another marathon run 2018, for no other reason than the early bird rate is $31.

  2. Pingback: running week of 5/1 + April recap | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

