running week of 5/1 + April recap

Monday and Saturday were the only days I ran outside last week. It was pretty miserable here and I’d about had it with running in rain and 20 mph winds so I took the opportunity to do some speedier(ish? lol) runs indoors.

Monday: weights + 2 @ 9:08. I know I said I didn’t want to do any more perfunctory runs but I just really wanted to run, so I did.
Tuesday: treadmill tempo 4 @ 8:56, 8:45, 8:42, 8:34
Wednesday: weights + 4 @ 8:50. I remember nothing about this run so it must not have been that great.
Thursday: Weights + treadmill hills 5 @ 9:50. I, unwisely, added a new move to my leg routine before attempting a hill workout and my quads were pissed at me.
Friday: NADA. I was so sore all day I could barely lower myself onto the toilet seat without groaning. But I did some pretty violent rolling with The Stick Friday evening and it helped a lot.
Saturday: 7 @ 8:50. A perfect progression: 9:23, 9:12, 9:06, 8:55, 8:39, 8:33, 8:07. This run was bliss, you guys. One of those “this is why I became a runner” runs.
Sunday: NADA

Total miles: 22

~*April miles*~

Total miles: 107– 26 more than last month.

Days running: 19

Longest run: 11 miles on 4/15, shortly after which I decided that double-digit runs aren’t doing jack for my 5k training, so I stopped doing them.

Runs on the treadmill: Four, and three of them were last week!

Races: None.

Group runs: One – an overzealous “tax day” run organized by my local running store, which made 12 for the day and led to some wacky groin pain.

Best run: I was exuberant after my 7 mile run Saturday. I felt strong and finished fast.

Worst run: Last Sunday’s 6. I was tired and couldn’t catch my breath and none of it was fun.

Oh…and I signed up for another marathon, I KNOW RIGHT? LOL LOL LOL. It’s March 31, 2018 and it was only $31, so why not!

4 thoughts on “running week of 5/1 + April recap

  1. Pingback: 8 months of lifting | Cheaper Than Therapy

  2. Pingback: May recap and running week of 5/22 | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

