running week of 5/8

I had a fun week that ended with a colossally bad run on Sunday, hooraaaaay!

Monday: Weights. Emphasis on legs, which made speed drills on Tuesday…interesting.
Tuesday: 8×400 with .25 recovery jogs and here are my splits: 1:48, 1:45, 1:51, 1:51, 1:48, 1:47 and the last two, predictably, 1:55, 1:55. I KNOWWWWW I ran these way too fast (5k pace for me is around 8:15 if I’m lucky) but whatever. Total of 6 miles.
Wednesday: Weights. Emphasis on arms. I still can’t do a chin-up.
Thursday: 6 @ 8:50. This one went better than expected. I ran a 6 mile progression back in March at near an 8:30 average but I’ve been struggling just to stay under 9:00 lately. Last mile: 7:50!
Friday: Weights (wailed on my arms and back and my lats are still sore) + 2 @ 8:48. I didn’t want to run too hard because I was planning a longer run Saturday (which ended up not happening) and it took me damn near two miles to feel warmed up anyway, but I felt good toward the end.
Saturday: The plan included running but I had a rough night and slept in until after 9:00! NINE. I can’t even remember the last time I did that. Even when I do have the option of sleeping in, I wake up at the crack of dawn. But Codie has been doing this thing where she wakes up at night and then takes an hour OR MORE to go back to sleep. This time she woke up around 2 a.m. and then again around 5:30. I’ve never been hit by a train, but it can’t feel that much worse than not sleeping for a month. (Also, help? She’s going to be 3 in a month and we’re still nursing.)
Sunday: 6.6 @ 9:37. I was planning another progression or in the very least a faster last mile but neither of those things happened. I had another rough night (but thankfully husband got up with the kids again and let me sleep in!). I didn’t get out until around 10 and it was already hot af. As soon as I started running I knew it wasn’t gonna be my day. After the first mile I was still struggling to stay under 10:00 and every time I tried to pick up the pace, I’d fall back into the 9:30s. So fun. :/

total: 20ish

5k on Saturday! Taperish week and it’d also be fun to sleep more.

One thought on “running week of 5/8

  1. Pingback: May recap and running week of 5/22 | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

