predictable curmudgeony NYE post

The way I see it, there are several possible routes you can go when writing an end-of-year blog post.

  • You can reflect on the past year of your life as an excuse to re-post all your favorite and most flattering photos of yourself.
  • You can demonstrate how mature and sophisticated you are, sharing details of a classy and intimate dinner with your most grownup friends, not failing to mention how you drank one glass of wine, only a sip of champagne and closed out the night with a snugglefest on the sofa with your hubby.
  • You can post about your 2011 blog stats, using that helpful email WordPress sent you about an hour ago.
  • Inasmuch as you are above such arbitrary celebrations, you can whine about how much 2011 sucked and try to make everyone else feel like an asshole for having a good time.
  • You can do a this year/last year comparison, allowing you to post more gratuitous photos of your new baby friend.

Guess which one I chose.

Last New Year’s Eve…

This New Year’s Eve…

Happy New Year, bitches.

11 thoughts on “predictable curmudgeony NYE post

  1. I was going to whine, but since I whine all year long, I decided to take a break today :0)
    I think I like the ”last year’s new Eve” better…but the baby looks sleepy and happy, so it might not be as bad as I think. Happy New Year, Bitch!

  2. I don’t think they’re too different. Your friend in 2011 may be a little younger, but she’s still making faces at the camera. And there are plenty of bottles involved. Happy new year!

  3. I like both versions.

    At least your last New Years Eve had fun times. We were home sick with a bad colds and stayed up until midnight because I decided it would be a good idea to drink the bottle of champagne I bought for the party we were supposed to go to by myself. This year, in bed by 11:30 and no adorable baby yawns.

    • Pretty sure I slept better last year, in spite of being drunk! And I have also been known to prematurely kill entire bottles of champagne. It’s one of my finer qualities, I think.

Leave a comment